Medicated Feed?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Chester Hen, May 10, 2011.

1. Chester Hen

Chester Hen Out Of The Brooder

Jan 26, 2011
    Yorktown, Virginia
    Hello! [​IMG]

I am a total newbie at all of this. I got six chicks at the Feed & Seed 8 days ago...they are now 9 days old. The lady there said that medicated feed was not necessary, so I got the unmedicated kind. Now I am second guessing after reading a little about coccidiosis.

I set up their brooder in a large dog crate in the dining room. For the first week, I used newspaper with paper towels which I changed twice a day, along with wiping out the crate with a damp paper towel every morning. Yesterday I started using a thin layer of pine shavings (1/2 - 1 inch) over newspaper which I will probably change out daily. I have been washing out their feeder with dish soap about every 4 days and washing their waterer with dish soap daily. For the last couple of days I also rinsed the waterer with a little vinegar in the water. For the first week, there was poop in the waterer every time I cleaned it. Now that I have it elevated on an old phone book, they are not pooping in it so much. I'm worried about the poop they have surely ingested while drinking the water and also that they will be in the brooder past 3 weeks. I have already fallen hard for these little babies and cannot stand the thought of something happening to any of them.

Am I just paranoid, or should I be doing things a little differently or using the medicated feed? Any advice welcome. Thanks in advance. [​IMG]

2. Momagain1

Momagain1 Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 13, 2011
    Central IL
    Medicated feed: Yes, most of us agree

Waterer/feeder; its up..its good..

they are gonna eat their own poo; its just natural...dont worry about it..IMO..

mine are 11 wks old and are just fine...
    but yes; I did have my water/feeder up a bit..they will still find a way to poop on it...

lol..WELCOME and relax!!

3. Chester Hen