Medicated feed

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by greggy, Jun 23, 2008.

1. greggy

greggy Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 22, 2008
    Reed City, Michigan
    Will the bags of feed always say that it's medicated?....The 20% feed I'm using from TS doesn't say that, so I'm assuming it's not....I want to butcher in a week, so I sure don't want any medicated feed right now.

2. chickenlady

chickenlady Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 28, 2007
    Stillwater, NJ
    The tag will say medicated, not the bag itself.

3. s6bee

s6bee Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 1, 2007
    Western, NY
    TSC sells the unmedicated kind. That's what I had mine on.

4. greggy

Jan 22, 2008
    Reed City, Michigan
    I thought so, but it's nice to have the opinion of such knowledgeable folks...thanks

5. Dennis1979

Dennis1979 Out Of The Brooder

Jun 17, 2008
    Houston, Texas
    I am new to chicken raising. In fact I am only in the process of building the coop. I don't have the chicks yet. I have been doing a lot of research though and from what I understand, if the feed is medicated then that little white tag that is sewn into the strip must say MEDICATED. Otherwise it is non-medicated.

One other thing I have learned is that the TSC Dumor chick starter had "hydrolysed chicken feathers" in the ingredients. I have vowed to not feed my chickens meat in their feed or as scraps. They can eat bugs and worms all they want but I don't want to feed chicken to my chickens. It just seems wrong. I'm curious to know what others think about that.

I found a Purina dealer close by that carries the Sun Fresh products and they have no chicken, beef or any other animal parts in the feed. Only grain.

Dennis

6. greggy

Jan 22, 2008
    Reed City, Michigan