medicated starter food for chicks

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by goldeneggtees, Apr 13, 2009.

1. goldeneggtees

goldeneggtees Fluffy Butt Nut

Mar 11, 2009
    Long Island, NY
    Hi, I am new to chickens and have 8 b/o's. When I picked up the chicks from Agway, I was advised to feed medicated chick starter since the chicks weren't vaccinated. I had really wanted to keep these chickens as organically raised chickens for egg laying purposes. When I seemed unsure as to the kind of feed I would be needing, the woman who I ordered the chicks from and another woman who happened to be there from Suffolk County Farms also advised medicated starter.

What does everyone think of this? They said to use it for 2 months, then switch to unmedicated feed.

And this is another questionÂ… Can I feed them worms or any bugs from my yard if I can find any? They seem to be looking for extra food. Or, can they have any other kind of food? Grass? Lettuce? They are about 1.5-2 weeks old now. Thanks in advance for any advice![​IMG]

2. pascopol

pascopol Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 6, 2009
    Tampa Bay
    Quote:Yes, switch to unmedicated starter before their laying age.
    I feed my young chicks hard boiled eggs mixed with quacker oats (uncoocked) beside starter from day 1 as a very healthy supplement. They go nuts for it.

At 2 weeks you can start feeding them greens,bugs etc.

Also I feed mine starting 2 weeks with leftovers from my canaries and cockatiels (some uneaten bird food).
    They love it too.

If you feed them any kind of grain like this they need some grit.

I give mine parakeet grit, looks like fine sand.

Good luck with your babies.

3. CritterFarmer

CritterFarmer Out Of The Brooder

Feb 28, 2009
    Ontario