1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

meet mr.peter

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by mister peter, May 12, 2016.

1. mister peter

mister peter New Egg

May 10, 2016
    I am a 71 year old, lifetime Gardner, who had a lung removed six weeks ago due to cancer. My heart was adversely affected by the surgery and they had to stop it twice and then shock it to get it going again.soooooo no more gardening for me. What do you think about me raising [​IMG]chickens?
    I have no experience with them,and do not know if there is a lot of physical labor required,once the coop is built. any thoughts? Mister Peterr

2. sourland

sourland Broody Magician Premium Member

May 3, 2009
    New Jersey
    Mr Peter, I have a friend who went through the same surgery - did not have the heart complications. He pretty much continued on with his normal activities - just at a reduced rate. Welcome to BYC, and if you start out on a small scale I can't imagine why you won't be able to keep a small flock. Talk to your doctor about any possible problems he might anticipate. Welcome to BYC, and good luck.

3. OrganicFarmWife

OrganicFarmWife Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 21, 2015
    No where Nebraska
    Once the coop is built there does not need to be alot of physical labor.
    The biggest jobs in chicken keeping are daily food and water, and coop cleaning.