meet our new rescue horse, "Big Daddy" (update post 22)

Discussion in 'Other Pets & Livestock' started by technodoll, Jul 16, 2010.

1. technodoll

technodoll Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 25, 2009
    Quebec, Canada
    Do you believe in destiny?

DH and I had been thinking of finally getting our own horse this autumn but were a bit hesitant because of cost, complications, etc... We're absolute novices and have never owned a horse before, but we have 12 acres (most in paddocks) and a big stable - we've been here a year now and have one paying renter (her horse has been here for 10 years!) and one "freebie" horse to keep the tenant company. We were kinda tired of feeding and boarding someone else's horse for free, you know?

So last Sunday morning.

I open Facebook and see a crosspost on a friend's wall: Urgent! Foster homes needed for 6 belgian geldings seized from a neglect-and-abuse situation!

I showed the post to DH and the photo just broke our hearts... how can anyone let their animal starve to skin and bones like that? The horses were found in filth up to their shoulders, not exercised in months, not fed, watered, vetted - nothing. They beaten, abused, they were riddled with mites, lice, worms, you name it [​IMG]

Horse Rescue got them through a court order and spent 4 months vetting and rehabilitating them with food and good care but now they needed urgent foster (or adoptive) homes... DH and I agreed to look into it, I emailed the Rescue and got a call back right away saying it was urgent and the decision had to be made the same day, would it be possible to drive up and see the horses?