metal lining inside coop?

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by kirbyr76, Apr 8, 2012.

1. kirbyr76

kirbyr76 New Egg

Apr 8, 2012
    I've decided I want to build a coop rather than buy a premade one. I'm a metal fabricator by trade and am wondering if lining the inside with light gauge stainless steel would harm anything? I figured this would make cleaning much easier. The coop will be underneath trees for shade. I also will be able to ventilate with a fan.

Any help or suggestions would be appreciated

2. Life is Good!

Life is Good! Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 14, 2011
    suburbia Chicagoland
    Not sure where you're located, but with a metal interior, I'd be concerned about heat, even in shade.

Also, chickens LOVE LOVE LOVE to peck at anything shiny. I think you'd find your chicks pecking the walls!

Our walls are plywood and as long as you plan your roosts far enough from the walls, the walls really don't get 'dirty' from poop. I find the dust accumulates more on the plywood than any dirt or poop. I simply brush the walls every time I change out the litter (not using deep litter method) with a broom and it keeps the cobwebs and dust down for me. Chickens couldn't care less....

3. kirbyr76

kirbyr76 New Egg

Apr 8, 2012
    Forgot to mention I'm in central Indiana. It generally is in the high 80's during summer and can get into the high 90's many days in the summer. The heat was the part worrying me

4. GardenerGal

GardenerGal Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 20, 2008
    Massachusetts