Metal shed as Coop ??

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by critterrun, Oct 31, 2011.

1. critterrun

critterrun Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 6, 2011
    NJ
    Has anybody used a metal shed as a coop?

My girls have a dog run but not a real coop
    I was thinking of getting a cheap metal shed
    1/2 for them 1/2 for there stuff

I read about putting straw around walls to help keep it warm

would it be to big/to cold?
    I am a newbie [​IMG]

Thanks
    Debbie in NJ

2. darkmatter

darkmatter Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 10, 2009
    Quote:In my opinion, metal fries in the sun and freezes in the winter. Not a good choice.

3. conny63malies

conny63malies Overrun With Chickens

Mar 22, 2008
    Annetta Kentucky
    How many girls do you have? i have seen 10 x 10 wood sheds go for as low as 550$ , maybe you could find one on sale at the local home improvement store , like Lowes or Home Depot, you know the models that they had outside and now get rid of before winter.

4. LiLRedCV

LiLRedCV Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 25, 2010
    Land of the Rain
  5. LizaBlue

LizaBlue Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 26, 2010
    Wee Acres
    Saw a post here not too long ago about using a metal shed, and most folks were against it. Considered it not weatherproof, too sensitive to outside temps., and no way to attach things easily to the inside (like roosts, nest boxes, and feeders). The consensus seemed to be that for the same cost or less, you could build a simple wood coop, or even buy one.

If you just enter "metal shed" in the search box at the top right, you'll see a bunch of posts about it.

6. ozark_chickies

ozark_chickies Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 19, 2011
    Arkansas
    We just built a coop out of recycled aluminum siding. With proper ventilation, and insulation there is nothing wrong with using a metal shed as your coop.

7. Mrsfoote

Mrsfoote Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 19, 2010
    Laurel Montana