Metzer Farms geese?

Discussion in 'Geese' started by rilly10, Aug 24, 2010.

1. rilly10

rilly10 Clover Field Farm

May 18, 2010
    Pottstown, PA
    I am new to geese and really want a few now that I moved to a larger farm. I am interested in sebastopols, americans, and maybe tuffed romans. My question is I would like 4 or 5 total (just as pets) I MUST have sebbies but would like a few other breeds for variety if they can be mixed.

So my question is...does anyone have any of these breeds from Metzer? Do they have quality stock? Have you been happy with them?

Thanks in advance!

2. Olive Hill

Olive Hill Overrun With Chickens

Apr 19, 2009
    I have Buffs from Metzer Farms. Mind you we're not interesting in show quality, but we are happy with them. They're a friendly, interesting bunch, do a wonderful job of mowing the lawn, arrived healthy, happy and have been thrifty and robust from day one. We just added them this year and will be breeding for butcher, so haven't processed any yet but they look to be filling out nicely as we go along so we're happy with that aspect as well.

Here they are at almost three months old:

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

3. MsMelvin

MsMelvin Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 15, 2009
    We ordered a pair of Metzer's Buffs, as pet quality, this spring but the male did not survive past two weeks. He was well cared for but just lacked the robust and vigor right from the first day forward. He was even smaller than her.

(The female is growing nicely, posesses a great personality and is happy. Took her first flight last week at two months and twenty days old).

I have read here, that other folks have had young goslings (and ducklings) just die that were ordered from Metzer as well. I informed them; they expressed thier condolences (and are very nice people) but did not offer to replace him. That was mid June, past hatching season for the American buffs.