Michiana transplant in El Paso, Texas.

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Eris, Aug 15, 2011.

1. Eris

Eris Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 15, 2011
    El Paso, Texas
    Hello! [​IMG]

(1) Are you new to chickens / when did you first get chickens?
    I'm extremely new to chickens, I've actually only seen them twice in person for only a minute or two each time. I've never raised them and never thought I would ever raise them. My family recently placed an order at McMurrays for 29 chicks. We will receive them sometime next week I hope.

(2) How many chickens do you have right now?
    We have 29 on order.

(3) What breeds do you have?
    We ordered the "25 Rainbow layers" from McMurray, and also a Black Star roo, a Delaware roo, and a New Hampshire roo, and a mystery chick.

(4) How did you find out about BackYardChickens.com?
    Google search!

(5) What are some of your other hobbies?
    Reading forums, learning about homesteading, browsing at dollar stores to see what a dollar can buy me these days.

(6) Tell us about your family, your other pets, your occupation, or anything else you'd like to share.
    My family is originally from Indiana and Michigan and we recently moved to 50 acres in the El Paso, Texas area. We needed a change. We live in the middle of the desert. We are off grid, going back to living simple, and attempting to live a sustainable life. We are building our earthbag home. Our chicken coop is a pallet coop. We are also hoping to have rabbits for meat, a goat or cow for milk, red wrigglers, and aquaculture. I am a stay at home mom, its the best job I could ever ask for. We also have two male AKC Rottweiler brothers.

2. redsoxs

redsoxs Chicken Obsessed

Jul 17, 2011
    North Central Kansas
    [​IMG] from Kansas, Eris! Glad you joined BYC! I just received an order from McMurray of 26. They all came in happy and healthy. Hope the Texas heat is finally giving you a break! have fun with your birds! [​IMG]

3. itsy