Mike's new Houdans!

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by houdans, Oct 13, 2007.

1. houdans

houdans New Egg

Oct 13, 2007
    [​IMG] This is my first time raising baby chicks. I bought a batch of 6 Houdans which turned out to be 7 because of a miss count or the breeder threw in an extra for good measure. Anyway they were 2 days old when I first got them and now their 3-1/2 weeks old. They grow like weeds! I started a web page for my photos and I've taken some still's and movies of them. You can see them at this link.

http://www.mikesgeorgiahomes.com/images/houdans.htm

Send me some feedback, I will keep taking more photos about once each week as they mature. Right now I have them in Rio Rancho, NM. But I plan on moving to Georgia in the next month or so and have to figure out how best to transport them. I'm moving myself in a Uhaul, pulling a trailer w/car. Anyone ever done that before with chickens? Do they allow you to transport chicks across state lines? The trip is going to take about 2.5 days. What about shipping them? I assume USPS allows them to ship since the breeder shipped them to a feed store here where I bought them.

Thanks, Mike

2. Mac

Mac Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 1, 2007
    South Central PA
    Great looking birds Mike! Sweet movie of them in the sun.

Good luck on the drive. Never have transported chickens before, but at least it isn't so hot this time of year for some of the trip anyway.

Mac

3. TurtleChick

TurtleChick Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 3, 2007
    Tacoma, WA
    they are toooo cute! i've never seen a houdan - they're gorgeous! now i'm gonna have to go and google them. jeez. thanks! now i'm going to be sitting here at my computer for an EXTRA half hour looking at chickens pictures!!!

[​IMG]

4. dragonlili

dragonlili Chillin' With My Peeps

May 26, 2007
    N Middle TN
    Nice chicks, Mike.