military career?

Discussion in 'Family Life - Stories, Pictures & Updates' started by arabookworm, Oct 1, 2009.

1. arabookworm

arabookworm Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 27, 2008
    Pittsburgh, PA
    so I've been thinking recently that I might want to have a career that is somehow involved in the military. but I have joint problems and am flatfooted, meaning that I would never get into the actual military, and either way I don't think I would want to. but I do want to support my country in some way.

so my question is this: does anyone know any careers that would work for me? I'm probably going to major in political science, psychology, communication, or a combination of 2 of these. (im a freshman, haven't decided yet)
    thanks

2. deb1

deb1 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 26, 2008
    NC
    My husband is flat footed and just retired from the military. My dad was flat footed also and he served time in Vietnam.

Talk to a recruiter anyway. You might still be able to join the military.

3. arabookworm

Oct 27, 2008
    Pittsburgh, PA
    I have other joint problems and have a lot of trouble running except very short distances, or walking for extended periods of time. and I can't run very fast at all. and there is a good chance I will develop arthritis in my 20s.

I don't think actual combat or anything like that would work out.

4. Boyd

Boyd Recipient of The Biff Twang

Mar 14, 2009
    MI
    doesn't mean you can't be a combat engineer, or a computer tech, communications maven, or a corpsman. You don't have to be infantry to serve your country.

PS, logistics was my second career [​IMG] Non combat.

5. Wifezilla

Wifezilla Positively Ducky

Oct 2, 2008
    Colorado
    A lot of careers connected to the military are staffed by, run by and started by retired military. You will have a leg up if can manage to serve at least a 3 year stint.

My son is currently in the army. He wants to be a chef. He is a cook at Ft Riley. Good training.