Misfit Mallards

Misfitmallards

In the Brooder
Jun 2, 2016
Ok I am new to all this and started this account because I have a question and cannot seem to find any information on the web. So I live on a lake and my backyard literally has steps down to our boat dock. About 8 months ago I started feeding these two odd looking ducks. I call them my "misfits" because they just don't seem to fit in with the others. They seem to be a cross breed between a mallard and a Peking duck. I have raised ducks since I was little so I was able to tell from coloring, feathers and vocal sounds that they were both definitely males. Since that time these two ducks have pretty much taken up residence in my back yard. They will even go as far as walking into our house if the door is open. They still swim the lake but have become super territorial. Our house is on a small little section of the lake and these two ducks will chase off any other mallard that even comes close to this area. That being said...... I am wondering if this is at all normal? Neither duck is interested in pairing up with a female and from everything that I have read and am accustomed to, they should be at least interested. They also are extremely inseparable, to the point where if one is out of the others sight, they will become very vocal until they find each other. They will literally follow one another everywhere and even sleep right next to each other. It's super cute, but again kind of strange!! So I guess my question is....do male mallards ever pair up with the same sex like this???? I guess it's not a big deal but just would like to know a little more since it seems we have inherited these guys as pets!! Thanks for taking the time to read and appreciate any feedback or knowledge you may have!! :)