missing chickens

Discussion in 'Predators and Pests' started by kwallis, Sep 5, 2016.

1. kwallis

kwallis New Egg

Sep 5, 2016
    Mexico, New York
    hi there, for starters I'm a teen and I'm new to this. I have a coop connected to a large fenced in area where goats used to live. I let my chickens run in the fenced area, it's about 4ft high and they like to fly over and run my yard. I live on a main road(a state route), and so there's a lot of traffic. my hens usually stay away from the road and I've checked the road to make sure they weren't road kill. I also have wooded land where the hens like to go once they escape. when I went to retrieve the eggs this morning a did a "pre-count" and I only counted 8 out of 9. then an hour later only counted 7. I'm not sure if I have any predators considering I live in upstate New York on a very busy street. I'm not aware of any Hawks and or foxes. my brother likes to hunt and so does my neighbor but not for chickens and I haven't heard of any predators. I'm not sure if I should alter the fenced in area since it isn't roofed but it seems too big to cover. and the hens like to roost in a nearby tree they can reach by being on the top of the fence. I'm just curious if it's possible if they ran off and will be back later when it's near feeding time, or if there was an attack. would love to hear tips :) thank you

2. centrarchid

centrarchid Chicken Obsessed

Sep 19, 2009
    Holts Summit, Missouri
    Bird could be laying eggs in the bushes, could be setting on a clutch, or could be nabbed by a predator, or could be trapped in something like a box. You will have to scour area thoroughly. I would confine balance until you get a handle on what is going on. Predators you have and likely in good numbers.

3. JChicken77

JChicken77 Out Of The Brooder

Sep 4, 2016
    Texas