1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Missing feathers on back

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Jennyhaschicks, Jan 26, 2009.

1. Jennyhaschicks

Jennyhaschicks Chillin' With My Peeps

May 3, 2008
    Maine
    A couple of my hens are missing feathers on their backs. Well, the feathers aren't ripped out just broken off.
    Would the cause of this be breeding?
    Sorry I am fairly new to this, but breeding is the only thing I can think of??

2. Chicken Woman

Chicken Woman Incredible Egg

Oct 16, 2008
    Montana
    Yes your roster is being rough. How many hens to roo ratio do you have ? If you have to many roo's thay can wear those girls out. Should be around 8 hens to a roo. There is a garment you can put on them to help the feathers gro back in but I can't think of what it's called . [​IMG]

IM sure someone else will come along and tell you about it.

3. Jennyhaschicks

Jennyhaschicks Chillin' With My Peeps

May 3, 2008
    Maine
    I have 3 roos right now. I only have 9 hens. [​IMG]
    I know. I know. We were supposed to cull 2 of the roos this weekend. We ended up taking the kids somewhere on Sat and my nephews b day party on Sunday. So they are going this week (end) at the latest.
    As far as I have seen my hens don't let the younger roos breed them. I didn't know if they were grabbing my hens and trying to breed them and breaking feathers.
    On the other hand I think my older roo can be a bit rough.

4. Chicken Woman

Chicken Woman Incredible Egg

Oct 16, 2008
    Montana
    I think it's called a saddle. Go to search and type in saddle. [​IMG]

5. sammi

sammi Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 21, 2007
    Southeast USA
    yep...they're called chicken saddles..
    try poultry supply places online,