Missing Feathers, Possible to Identify Breed?

ajamichelle

In the Brooder
5 Years
Aug 13, 2014
New Mexico
Hi everyone!

I'm new here and am also new to keeping chickens. This is my first flock. I started with five chicks acquired in May of this year (2014) and have recently acquired two adult hens who are already laying (Aug 2014). These ladies were living with three other hens in an area I believe was too small. Their previous caretaker was understandably concerned about their welfare, and rehomed them to me.

I would so appreciate any input into breed type. They're both missing a lot of feathers (one hen especially), so I'm not able to identify them, and am hoping that the experts here can. Additionally, I'm a novice so I'm only guessing anyway. :)

I have five chickens in my original flock: four hens and one rooster. One hen and the rooster are 16 weeks old and the other three are 14 weeks. The two adults are just over 1 year old. All of the hens are about the same size, and the rooster is at least twice the size of everyone else. I took and risk and skipped quarantining, the pecking order is established, and the new gals are much happier and in much better shape already.

Please see below for corrected post with photos. :) Sorry for the confusion!

Last edited:
Your first 3 pics are either black Australorps or Jersey giants pullets. Look at bottom of feet, if their yellow than JG, if their white then their Aussies. 4 looks mixed,
Then your missing feather new girls you got, I can't tell, they look rough. Then you have a few naked neck turkens and the last pic is a cockerel
Oh also the 3rd pic from bottom, there's a buff Turken pullet and a darker Turken, the darker is a cockerel.

Last edited:
I am sooo sorry! I usually post links using photobucket on forums, but the content is not displayed correctly. So here's my post with embedded photos...