Missing feathers

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Countrycluckers, Aug 15, 2013.

1. Countrycluckers

Countrycluckers New Egg

Aug 11, 2013
    Eden, NC
    Hey all,

I am new to the BYC community and I am still learning my way around....slowly but surely!! :) I don't get to spend a lot of time on here like I want to so it will probably be a slow process for me to learn!! Just be patient with me and I will do my best to figure this out!! :0) Anyways, I enjoy my chickens and have had them for about a year now. I don't know everything I need to know about them and knew I was get plenty of help from BYC about the do's and don'ts of raising chickens. I am learning as I go and have made some mistakes but I am trying to get better!!

I have a couple of hens that are missing feathers on their backs and I don't know what is causing this. I didn't know if this is coming from some of the others pulling them out, breeding, mites, lice, disease, deficiencies or what? Could anyone let me know what is causing this and how to put a stop to it. I don't really have a vet in my area that deals with farm animals and I do the best I can. Any suggestions or help would be appreciated!! :0)

Thank you and I am happy to be here!!!! :0)

2. sumi

sumi Égalité Staff Member

Jun 28, 2011
    Rep of Ireland
    Welcome to BYC [​IMG] Glad you joined us! First of all, here's some tutorials and explanations on how things work here, how to do things, etc:

https://www.backyardchickens.com/a/faq