missing feathers

Discussion in 'Quail' started by cornishchicks, Nov 4, 2014.

1. cornishchicks

cornishchicks Out Of The Brooder

Jul 22, 2014
    I am fairly new to keeping quails. I just added 4 5 week old quails which i reared myself into enclosure with 2 1year old ones.
    I kept them in the same enclosure but two separate large rabbit hatches . My husband let them all out and it was good for 2 days but today i noticed 3 young ones in the corner of enclosure not looking too happy and on close inspection they all appear to have bold patches on their heads! Quite noticeable. No hurts, no blood just patches of ripped out feathers.
    Is this likely to be down to big ones bullying them?
    Both adults are fine, no feathers missing on them at all.
    I now put all 4 youngsters back into the hatch with some comforting food and water and lot of bedding to mess with.
    Will they always need to be separated?
    On top of it i am getting some new females from a local man, all 5 weeks old like mine. Shall i put them with my young ones or separated?
    Many thanks for any replies!

2. dc3085

dc3085 Chillin' With My Peeps

Quail are very territorial animals and you really can't interfere with their social structure so much without special care. They aren't smart enough to realize that they will not run out of food and water. In an animals mind territory is life and death. They believe they need all the space they get and all the feed in it to survive, because that's the way it works out in the wild. Basically no quail will tolerate interlopers in their space. If they were raised together it's different.