1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Mites and such

Discussion in 'Predators and Pests' started by Ole rooster, Oct 3, 2011.

1. Ole rooster

Ole rooster Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 25, 2011
    Milner, Georgia
    I saw a post on mites and little thingies chickens get and now I can't find it. So can anyone tell me how they get these and how or what do you do to the coop to prevent getting um. I had much rather prevent, than fight those pest on the chickens.

Last edited: Oct 8, 2011
  2. I'm1chickencuddler

I'm1chickencuddler Out Of The Brooder

May 31, 2011
    This is my first year with chickens and we had mites something terrible earlier this year. We bought a 50lb bag of food grade DE(diatomaceous earth) and sprinkled it on everything. I do mean everything! Including the birds. We put mounds of the stuff in the dirt they take their dust baths in. This worked fabulously for almost all the birds. I did, however, have to resort to chicken dust(a permethrin insecticide) for a couple of my birds. When I used that. We were done completely with the mites. I keep a sprinkle of the DE in the nest boxes as I was told the hay and straw used for that is notorious for importing mites and other unwanted little critters. I figured I'd rather be safe than sorry. I keep the coop sprinkled about once a week when I go and clean and scrape everything out for my compost pile. I still put the DE in the places they like to dust bathe. So far this is working out great. The DE is extremely inexpensive and it is completely safe. I hated having to use and insecticide but I would have hated even more to have lost one of my girls to those pesky mites. By the way, the DE is great in your garden to keep pests away and on your dogs and cats for fleas. From what I am told by all the organic ga