Mites

KimKat33

Songster
Mar 7, 2020
Colorado
Hello!

Yesterday I noticed poopy feathers around one of my hens vents. This is the first time it has happened to her and since she does not have a fluffy butt, I figured to check on it. Glad I did! I found mites!

Now I have been reading through numerous things and came to the conclusion that permethrin spray/dust is the way to go.

But I have questions on how to apply it. (Its my first time dealing with mites)

For the coop i figured I could just clean everything out, throw out the old bedding and whatnot. But I have plastic containers and metal racking in there. Do I have to wash that down? Can I just spray it with the permethrin? After I spray the coop down and the roosts down, do I physically have to scrub it? How often should I be messing with the bedding (spraying it or completely changing it out) I use wood shavings for the entire coop and they have a dirt run. Do I need to treat the run?

I figured I could use ethe permethrin powder in the nesting boxes and kinda kill 2 birds with 1 stone. Get the underside of the bird while also getting the nesting boxes.

Also my hens are flighty when it comes to me actually grabbing them. They are fine when I walk around them, but picking them up is where they draw the line. So what would be the best way for me to treat them? I don't really have anyone helping me. If I put the perm. dust down on the roosts, would that help? I have saddles on some of my hens. Should I take those off for now until the mites are gone?