mites

Becca

In the Brooder
12 Years
Nov 26, 2007
hi everyone. i asked on here a little while ago about a problem i had discovered with mites on my chickens.

i followed the instructions you gave me, thouroughly disinfecting the house and putting down the mite powder, and also dusting the chickens, but i am still finding the mites on the chickens. how often should i actually dust the chickens themselves? i didn't want to be doing it too often if it could harm them, but am now concerned i haven't done it enough?

also, should it be quite fast acting in killing the mites, or is it usual to take a while to clear an infestation?

i have not had this before as i am new to chicken keeping, and am keen to sort it out before my chickens start to suffer.

Thanks in advance.
smile.png

Hi,
I'm new to this to. Had the same prob, used a spray for mites didn't work. 1 week later tried to dust them & housing as you did. Been 2 days, seems better. I think after a week i will use the powder again.
Good luck
From Aussie

Thanks for your reply Aussie. I have been dusting them every 7-10 days (ish), for a few weeks now, but the mites have not gone yet. Does anyone know how often it is recommended to do? Should I be doing it more regularly?

Thanks.
smile.png

What are you dusting them with? A pesticide dust or DE? Do they also have a dust bath that they use? Between the heavy clay soil here and the heavy rains, our chickens need a little help to make and maintain a good dust bath. We use sand in it, to keep it loose, and have one under cover, so that it stays dry. Other things can be added, like wood ash or DE. I guess it's like cooking. Everybody has their own recipe.

Hi, thanks for your reply woodland woman, sorry it has taken a while to respond, i have been having trouble with the forum.

we also have quite heavy soil, so we do have a sand dust bath for them, which also has been powdered.