mix breed (bantam size)hatches not doing well- any suggestions?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by HeatherInBama, May 15, 2008.

1. HeatherInBama

HeatherInBama Out Of The Brooder

Aug 19, 2007
    North Alabama
    Hi everybody-- Nobody hears from me much - I tend to do more reading than posting- but I'm very new to incubating and wanted to see if anybody could give me any tips. We have 2 bators- 1 is forced air, electronic thermostat, with automatic turner. eggs are in there till day 18, then go to still air manual thermostat for hatching. right now I candle on fridays and add eggs every friday- so we get hatches once a week. my flock is mixed- about half ameracaunas (sorry spelled wrong) and a mix of rirs, orpingtons and australorps with a few white layers thrown in. Only have 2 roosters- both americaunas- for about 160 hens so I usually only have about 50% fertile. Hatch rate for the ones that are fertile is about 80%- so I think I'm doing pretty well for a newbie- but I'm Having terrible luck with the little eggs. I have a silkie rooster and fluffy polish? hens and a banty rooster and 2 banty hens of same breed- so far I have had 1 polish egg hatch with chick die at 2 days old and over a half dozen eggs that just stopped developing and died sometime between 12 and 18 days. should I not incubate the little eggs at all since they may be mix breed- or do I need a different setup for the little breeds? any comments are welcome![​IMG]

2. ginasmarans

ginasmarans Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 15, 2007
    West Tn