Mixed flock...is one of each breed ok?

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by hailajohill, Dec 28, 2016.

1. hailajohill

hailajohill Just Hatched

Dec 28, 2016
    Hi all! Im in the process of researching chicken breeds for a flock i plan to start in march. Im an absolute beginner, but plan to have about 15. Unfortunately, I've found about 15 breeds I'd like to try! Can i get one of each to see which breeds I like best, or should I pick 6 or 7 and get 2 or 3 of each? And if I were to get say a barred rock and a white rock, does that count as 2 of the same? Ive had a few folks say I need at least 2 of each, but I cant find anywhere that suggests if that's true or why it's important. Thanks for the advice.

2. burdboy

burdboy Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 19, 2016
    I have one of most of my breeds and that's what I preferre mine don't fight I also have bantams Guineas and ducks in with my flock one of each works for me

3. dekel18042

dekel18042 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 18, 2013
    Pennsylvania
    [​IMG] There is no reason you can't have done of each to see what you like. Maybe some say two in case something happens to one? I ordered a shipment with mostly one of each breed, two of some and it got lost in the mail so I did lose some breeds. My cuckoo marans died, a speckled Sussex and the others were all ones of two or three so I had at least one of each left.
    The ones I like, I can get more of later. And if you want a barred rock and a white rock you can certainly get both. Initially I got black copper marans, blue splash marans and a cuckoo, but unfortunately the cuckoo died.

4. Dom'sHEns

Dom'sHEns Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 2, 2007
    New Jersey
    Its not true that you need to have 2 of each.

Just keep in mind it is moslty true from what I notied over the years birds of a feather do flock together. This can be viewed as both good and bad in terms of bird personality/agressivness in my opinion.