1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

mixed flock??

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by juliejohnson805, Oct 17, 2016.

1. juliejohnson805

juliejohnson805 Out Of The Brooder

Aug 24, 2016
    Central Alabama
    What do you see as the pros and cons of having a mixed breed flock? I'm new to this and with my first purchase ended up with roos. I have kept 2 of them and have been told that I need around 20 hens to keep everyone happy. They free range every evening and weekend. I'm in this mainly for the eggs for my family and to sell with my organic veggie business. We do really enjoy interacting with them and like to hand feed/pet all that will allow it. This is what I have: 2 EE roos, 1 EE, 2 Jersey Giant, 1 English Orphington, 3 Marans, 3 Barnevelders, 3 Domineckers, 3 Barred Rock, 3 Buff Orphingtons, 3 Red Star, and 3 Amercaunas (these might end up being EE not sure yet). I have ordered some of these from a hatchery and some from local breeder. I'm thinking I have went a little overboard......[​IMG]

2. tmarsh83

tmarsh83 Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 16, 2015
    NEIN
    I'm not 100% sure what you are trying to ask.

I like having a mix of birds to look at, but as I start to think about maybe breeding a sustainable flock in the future, I don't like the idea of nothing but barnyard mixes, I wouldn't mind getting a heritage breed or two to help preserve.

It's really all personal preference. There isn't a "wrong" type of flock, unless, you want eggs and end up with all roos. LOL

3. Ridgerunner

Ridgerunner Chicken Obsessed

Feb 2, 2009
    Northwest Arkansas