mixing already grown hens?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by Ericasl, Feb 22, 2008.

1. Ericasl

Ericasl Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 21, 2008
    The Dalles OR
    Hello to all, I am very new with chickens!! I had some when I was a kid, but now I am all grown up with my own. We got 6 hens on Feb 17th (almost a year old) and 1 two year old. They seem very happy they have free range of 1 acre to roam and a nice coop. I really have two questions. We got eggs the day after we got them 2 or 3 a day. I was shocked I thought It would take a week or so to settle in!! Then yesterday nothing?? Also can you mix already grown hens, we know have somebody who cannot keep there 5 hens (almost a year). Is it not a good idea to mix them??

Thanks Erica:rolleyes:

2. DuckLady

DuckLady Administrator Staff Member

Jan 11, 2007
    Washington State
    Hi Erica, Welcome to BYC!
    What happens is that you got the eggs at first because they were already on the way to being laid. Then the settling in period after that.

You can mix grown hens, just quarantine them for up to 30 days to make sure they don't bring any disease into your flock. Check for mites and dust as needed and for scaly leg mites and treat as necessary. Watch the poo, general behavior and health.

We are here to help!

3. Ericasl

Feb 21, 2008
    The Dalles OR
    HI, thanks for the info. I just went out to give my ladies fresh water and some apples, and I had a nice brown egg waiting for me!!Also two more hens in the boxes. I have two hens that sit in the same box together!! They are so funny. I am sure I will have many questions....

Thanks
    Erica

4. DrakeMaiden

DrakeMaiden Overrun with Drakes

Jun 8, 2007
    Kitsap County, WA
    Welcome Erica!

If you search the forum you can find a thread or two about quarantining new birds. It is best to keep the new birds up-wind and change your shoes and wash your hands (at least) between pens. It can be a pain though.