Mixing Cracked Corn and Feed

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by commonburrplantandco, Nov 14, 2017.

1. commonburrplantandco

commonburrplantandco In the Brooder

Nov 14, 2017
    Hi BYC community!

It's getting pretty chilly here in New England (dipping down to 20 degrees Fahrenheit during nights) and it's my first year having chickens, so naturally, I'm a bit worried about them. I read that feeding cracked corn to chickens will keep them warm so I was wondering if it would be okay to mix the cracked corn in with their feed (or should I provide it in a separate container?).

Thanks!

CapricornFarm likes this.
  2. peterlund

peterlund Songster

Jan 29, 2010
    MA Cranberry Country
    Southeastern Massachusetts here.
    Chickens wont care.... i toss handfuls of corn, and wild bjrd seed from tractor supply in their runs.
    20 degrees isn't cold for a chicken. They prefer cold over hot.

Roosters Rest2 and venymae like this.
  3. venymae

venymae Prairie Wind

Aug 18, 2014
    Manhappiness, Kansas
    My Coop
    I wouldn't. Chickens will be just fine in the cold as long as you have good ventilation and wind shelter. Good luck!

4. Roosters Rest2

Roosters Rest2 Chirping

Oct 26, 2017
    middleton tn
    yea they were raising chickens long before electricity :welcome

5. Diamond Dan

Diamond Dan Chirping

Feb 8, 2017
    Southern MS
    Olive oil herbs and spices keep them at 350 degrees

6. CapricornFarm

CapricornFarm Happy Father's day! Premium Member

May 8, 2017
    Southern Virginia
    Hello, i would feed it separately because they might start billing out food to search for scratch. Not a good habit. Good luck with your birds and welcome to the group.

7. Naser

Naser Songster

Oct 29, 2014
    Ireland
    :welcome
    Give them mixed corn or wheat in the evening just before they go to roost, that will help keeping them warm over night, don't mix it with feed, they will through away the feed and eat the mixed corn