Mixing starter feed--ok?

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by sudo-farmer, May 6, 2011.

1. sudo-farmer

sudo-farmer New Egg

May 6, 2011
    I'm new to the world of chickens - I'll become a proud owner @ 7:30 tomorrow morning. I've slowly been gathering my needed supplies and one of the last things I purchased was a 50lb bag of start 'n grow feed. I didn't get medicated feed at first and then decided that perhaps I had better. So, today I picked up a 5lb bag of medicated. I was wondering if it would be detrimental for the chicks if I were to mix the medicated in with the other start 'n grow. The medicated feed is from Mannapro and the other is a Purina product. I sure would appreciate anyone's input on this. Thanks!

2. Judy

Judy Moderator Staff Member

Feb 5, 2009
    South Georgia
    It wouldn't be detrimental, but the medicated is to help their immune system develop an immunity to cocci, which are in the soil. I'd save it for when or just before they are exposed to soil, myself.

3. DickGJ

DickGJ Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 8, 2011
    Sumter, South Carolina
    Quote:[​IMG]