Mixing starter feed--ok?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by sudo-farmer, May 6, 2011.

1. sudo-farmer

sudo-farmer New Egg

May 6, 2011
    So - I'm new to all of this & I believe I initially posted this on the wrong forum. Here goes again. I'm wondering if it would be ok to mixed a medicated starter feed with a non-medicated feed from a different supplier? The medicated feed is from MannaPro and the other starter is Purina. I pick up my chicks tomorrow morning and I don't want to cause them any harm. I've got everything else set-up and ready to go for their arrival, I just need some seasoned advice on this feed issue. Thanks!

2. gritsar

gritsar Cows, Chooks & Impys - OH MY!

Nov 9, 2007
    SW Arkansas
    [​IMG]

If they were my chicks I wouldn't. I can't say for sure, but to my way of thinking doing so would "dilute" the concentration of the medication and make it less effective.

3. azhenhouse

azhenhouse Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 12, 2010
    North Eastern Arizona
    I am thinking that it wouldn't hurt them. My don't even get medicated feed. I can't get it here. I currently have three chicks out in the coop with all chickens, and they eat a mix of everything. I can't stop them from eating what is around them. They get their chick starter, plus they nibble on layer feed. They also will go after scratch when I throw it out, and they eat super worms like it is spaghetti. They hatched on the 21nd of April, and the only way I would be able to prevent them from eating everything but their food would be to put them in a brooder box. I don't want to do that. I am sure it will be fine, but you need to do what you are comfortable with. Oh, [​IMG]

4. gritsar

gritsar Cows, Chooks & Impys - OH MY!

Nov 9, 2007
    SW Arkansas