Moldy coop

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by NBPdaisy, Feb 26, 2016.

1. NBPdaisy

NBPdaisy New Egg

Feb 23, 2016
    Vancouver island
    Hi! I'm very new to chicken keeping. We found a really old chicken coop after we bought our property. It hasn't been used well over 10 years but still structurally sound. Needs a bit of tlc. While cleaning out the straw, I noticed a strong musty/moldy smell. It was really dusty too.
    Please advise what I should do to thoroughly clean it out before it's safe to put chickens in there.
    Also, should I use straw or pine shavings for nests and floors.
    Thank you.

2. chicklover 1998

chicklover 1998 Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 30, 2015
    Oskaloosa,Ia
    Welcome to BYC I would douse the whole thing in vinegar, and scrub it good, and try to figure out how to add more ventilation, and if possible add a window or two that can be opened, the vinegar will kill the mold, ventilation will get rid of the moisture which is helping the mold to grow, and the windows will let more light in which will kill any mold trying to grow back. To make cleaning easier in the future you can also put linoleum on the floor, for the nests and floor pine shavings work the best for deep bedding method or just in general plus they absorb ammonia smells, straw/ hay works good but can sometimes harbor bugs, and they won't always be ones that the chickens like, but if you plan on composting the straw/hay breaks down way faster.

1 person likes this.
  3. BantamFan4Life

BantamFan4Life LOOK WHAT YOU MADE ME DO. Premium Member

Jun 15, 2012
    Washington
    My Coop
    Welcome to BYC! I'm glad you joined us! :)

1 person likes this.
  4. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years. Premium Member

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture