molting - to add light or not to add light in the fall

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by valerie in CB, Sep 23, 2012.

1. valerie in CB

valerie in CB Out Of The Brooder

Aug 27, 2012
    I am a newbie who inherited 6 birds about 2 months ago. They are from a large flock of free ranging hens that was being adopted out. They are varying ages, from 6 months to 3 yrs (??unknon) various breeds, all laying eggs except for the youngest one. I was told if I add light to ensure egg production (which I started doing about a week ago) then the birds will not molt until the spring. I have noticed feathers around the last 3 days. Are they molting anyway, should I turn the light off and let nature takes it course?? We live in a cold mountain location and it is already freezing in the early mornings but the days are warm still. They are basically free ranging in a yard 50x15, and get locked up at night in a coop.

Pls forgive me for asking what I am sure is a redundant question!! :) Any suggestions, advice, comments, are very greatly appreciated! Thanks in advance.

2. Happy Chooks

Happy Chooks Moderator Staff Member

Jul 9, 2009
    Northern CA
    My Coop
    [​IMG]

Molting is triggered by shorter daylight hours. Adding light before the days get shorter, might help with molting, but it will not stop it completely. If you live in a cold climate, you want your birds to molt before winter, so they can have new feathers to keep warm.

3. valerie in CB

Aug 27, 2012
    Thanks for the suggestion, I think I had better let them molt and buy eggs while I can still get nice ones at the farmers market. I didn't realize the new feathers would be warmer, that sure makes a lot of sense!

4. valerie in CB

Aug 27, 2012
    Oh, one more thing. I would like to get back to egg production after molting. Do I just watch to make sure they are all fully feathered before I add back light to equal 14 hours each day?

5. Happy Chooks

Jul 9, 2009
    Northern CA
    My Coop