1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

molting?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by justusnak, Mar 1, 2007.

1. justusnak

justusnak Flock Mistress

I am new to this chicken thing...and have 11 mixed breed hens. Seems a few of them have these fuzzy feathers falling out....are they molting? Is this a good thing or bad? Will they start laying better soon? Oh my I worry about my girls...when things dont "look right" How will I know when they want to set?? Do I leave the eggs in the nest? If so...how long? Ohhh the worry! I didnt worry this much when my dog had puppies!

2. TheBigWRanch

TheBigWRanch Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 12, 2007
    Wenatchee, Washington
    When they want to set, they will start sitting on the nest day and night. It is called going broody. Are you trying to hatch babies? If you aren't then take the eggs away everyday. Eggs will hatch in about 21 days.

3. justusnak

justusnak Flock Mistress

I would like them to hatch...just not sure how long to leave the eggs in there....I have about a dozen, I brought in the house in the last 3 days...they are sitting in a carton...on a heating pad...set on low...not sure if they are still ok, I was wanting to put them all in one nest, to see if a hen takes to them. Wanting to get an incubator...not sure how expencive they are....and I dont know a thing about them. I guess trial by error?

4. shadi

shadi Out Of The Brooder

Mar 4, 2007