Mom and chicks question...

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by SunAngel, Aug 7, 2008.

1. SunAngel

SunAngel Chillin' With My Peeps

May 20, 2008
    Chambersburg, Pa.
    I purchased a bantam hen and 3 chicks at the auction last night and now I am not exactly sure what to do with them lol. This is my first time raising chickens and most of my flock is 11 weeks old, with a few older chickens in the mix. I just couldnt pass up the opportunity to get a hen for such a good price.

[​IMG]

I am wondering what the best choice would be. I will be taking the two chicks which appear to be little roos back to the auction next week, which will leave me the hen and 1 chick.

I think my options are: Take the chick away from the mom and put it in a brooder, so that she can blend in with the older chickens and then get a couple more chicks to raise with the lone chick....or leave her to finish raising the lone chick herself in a separate pen...or get a couple more chicks and put them in the pen with mom and baby. Would she raise the new babies with her own?

The only reason I am considering taking the chicks away from her is that I think she was a free ranging chicken and not handled much, if at all. She is being a typical mother hen too and being protective and excited everytime we get near her or the babies. I would like to get her more relaxed and spend time with her before putting her with the other chickens (after some quarantine time of course). I also would like the chance to handle the little pullet so she doesn't grow up acting like the hen.

Can anyone help with ideas on what they would do?

2. Chickenaddict

Chickenaddict Chillin' With My Peeps

May 19, 2008
    East Bethel MN