momma has new chicks

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by ferretmommie, Jun 7, 2011.

1. ferretmommie

ferretmommie Out Of The Brooder

Mar 16, 2010
    ohio
    My silkie has been laying on her clutch of eggs for a long time , today I have seen the first little face pop out from beneath her, so sweet, now my question is do I move her and the babies out of the hen house away fron the other chickens and the roo ? will they pick on and kill the babies or will she do her job ? this is my first time with a new clutch like this so Im kinda wondering what to do?

2. MommaOrp

MommaOrp Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 6, 2011
    Derbyshire, England
    I imagine the others will pick on the chicks and also possibly the momma, they may be trampled or pecked, maybe even picked up and thrown. Our broody hatched hers about 7 weeks ago, whilst she was incubating them, we sectioned her off in our chicken barn, then when they hatched we moved her and her chickies outside into her own house and run. I would not advise leaving them around the others to avoid any nasty accidents!! best of luck [​IMG]

3. AKsmama

AKsmama Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 20, 2010
    South Carolina