Montana chickens

vickiemontana

Chirping
12 Years
Dec 18, 2007
Montana
HELP! I'm very new at this and after this last winter, I'm scared for my chickens. I bought 28 chicks from a popular hatchery and 5 arrived dead, all but 5 died within days. I hand fed them but they were just too week. My husband ordered 10 more from a more local breeder in Idaho. They sent 11 and they have all caught up in size to the others. So we have 16 ladies now. No one is laying yet. Maybe next month. I have a couple of questions. I need to know what is the lowest tempurature I should be concerned with. Do I just leave the door open, during clear weather, and let them decide whether they want to come out or not? We are free ranging them now, pinning them up at night. Do they stop laying in the winter? And on another subject, we have a really pretty Buff hen that is meaner than a hound dog. She keeps pounding my other hens.
D.gif
I don't plan on eating her, but she is being a menace. What do you do with a hen with a rotton attitude like that?

Do I just leave the door open, during clear weather, and let them decide whether they want to come out or not? We are free ranging them now, pinning them up at night. Do they stop laying in the winter? And on another subject, we have a really pretty Buff hen that is meaner than a hound dog. She keeps pounding my other hens. I don't plan on eating her, but she is being a menace. What do you do with a hen with a rotton attitude like that?

1. I would open a door to the run or yard, if you have a chicken door cut out. In the winter, I leave the main door closed. I have found the birds are very wise as to what weather they can tolerate.

2. They can slow down in the winter and even stop. Some folks provide a light in the coop to keep them laying better in the winter. As I prefer the more natural way, I let them cycle. Supposed to make their total laying years increase if they are allowed to take a break.