Monterey, Ca Loving My Gals

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by ChickwChicks, Jan 4, 2015.

1. ChickwChicks

ChickwChicks Out Of The Brooder

Dec 31, 2014
    Pacific Grove, Ca
    Hi All!

So thankful for this forum, have found so much excellent advice! Must admit borderline obssessed with my gals, they are spoiled and it appears many of you enjoy the experience of keeping chickens as fulfilling as I :)

I am new to urban chicken farming and was the lucky recipient of a free coop, 2 RIR hens (supposedly 18mo), just starting a molt in October. The previous owner was 8mo pregnant with 2 yr old and new puppy and simply said the chickens were too much to keep up with. She stated they were excellent layers. So assuming chickens lay for at least five years or so, I figured why not, at very minimum saves me the building of a coop!

I have come to love these gals. They have great personalities and seem to be almost done with molt. No eggs as yet, but hopeful! 1 Hen does squat when I pet her, maybe a sign??? I have put a solar light at bottom of coop for added light and read in one thread to put red pepper in diet, also added golf balls :). The gals roam in a 15x6 side yard and put themselves up at night so pretty low maintenance. Just two hens in total.

I do wonder if I have been duped and these gals are past laying???? Have read a few threads on aging chickens. Maybe you all can tell me with added pictures below?