Month by month...$ to produce a dozen eggs

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by Rock Home Isle, Jun 12, 2016.

1. Rock Home Isle

Rock Home Isle Chillin' With My Peeps

I've been raising chickens in my backyard for about 4 years. Pick a month and tell us about your flock..."How much does it cost you to produce 12 eggs on a monthly basis?"

For Example: May

We have 4 layers in our backyard flock, 2 Barred Rocks, 2 Black Sexlinks.

Our layer flock layed 119 eggs during the month of May.

That's an average of 3.84 eggs per day. On the 2nd of May, I bought 80 lbs of feed for $28.15.

So it cost me $2.84 cents-ish per dozen eggs. And they were able to convert 0.806 lbs of feed per dozen eggs.

That's an incredible conversion rate, but my birds free range and are very good at supplementing their diet on our property. They don't do nearly so well November through January.

How about your flock?

[​IMG]

Last edited: Jun 12, 2016
    1 person likes this.
  2. Rock Home Isle

Digital App: Tracking the Flock

How many of you keep track of the production of your flock?...How many of you would like too, but you need a framework that works, or would appreciate a little guidance?

I try to keep track of details...it's important to me, it's how I was raised.

I have been using an app on my iPhone for the past few months, and it is very nice for what I want it to be. The app is called Flock Plenty.

[​IMG]

I have tried this app for the last few months.

I can keep track of:
    -Daily egg counts
    -Feed purchases
    -I can include notes with each of my entries
    -I can include images with my entries
    -I can go back and edit any entry
    -if I know hatch dates, The app will show me the exact age of my birds. Handy when determining sexual maturity and Age of Lay...etc.
    -with a purchase of $4.99 I can run sales and expenses to determine profits and losses

As data is being entered, I can generate daily, weekly & monthly charts and graphs that: