Mopey weak chick? What can I do

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by XSCHICKS, Aug 31, 2014.

1. XSCHICKS

XSCHICKS Out Of The Brooder

Aug 31, 2014
    NH
    Ok I'm new to this , my first chickens I purchased 12 pullets from local feed store. The second day I unfortunately lost one little nugget :(. It was eating and drinking but not moving around as much as the others. I have had them 7 days now and my favorite little one is sleeping alot and not as as active as the others this is also the one that still has the embilical cord still there the bum is ok and it is pooping brown like the others the temp is about 92 in the brooder. I noticed when I just cleaned the space all the others where running to the opposite corner and this one was just staying put no matter how close I was. Whet I picked it up its legs seemed weak and it keeps going over to the corner and sleeping? Am I stressing for nothing or is this normal at times?

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

1 person likes this.
  2. Mountain Peeps

Mountain Peeps Change is inevitable, like the seasons Premium Member

Apr 23, 2014
    At our lodge
    My Coop
    Welcome to BYC! Please make yourself at home and we are here to help.

Sorry for your loss![​IMG] From the pictures, it looks like your chick has pasty butt. This can make them weak and lifeless.

To treat it, take your bird to the sink and, with gloves, wash the poop off with warm water using your hands to scrub it. Then apply either vaseline or coconut oil to the vent and put her back. You will probably have to do this several times before it goes away completely. Also, you need to put some sugar or ACV in her water. (Only a pinch of sugar.)

If you don't see her drinking, dip her beak in the water. Make sure she stays warm and hydrated.

You may also want to ask here https://www.backyardchickens.com/f/10/emergencies-diseases-injuries-and-cures

Good luck!

3. Michael OShay

Michael OShay Chicken Obsessed

May 14, 2014
    Montana