More Chicken and duck problems!! PLEASE HELP!

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by brandy21410, Apr 9, 2017.

1. brandy21410

brandy21410 Chillin' With My Peeps

Hello again,
    I realize I am extremely needy when it comes to these chickens but I appreciate everyone bearing with me. Iam still having a problem with my chickens feather loss so this is making me crazy!!! I have never seen the chickens pull out feathers just a bite here and there when they fight for the nest box.I am a full time student so i dont let them out while iam not there. I have them all on one side of my yard that is fenced away from the dogs during the day/afternoon until I get home in the evening, and then they are allowed out in my back yard, which is almost an acre.they free range all day on weekends. I feed all of the birds the same thing; flock raiser its 18% protein, and oyster shell/eggshell which I know is a tad too high for the ducks but the chickens feathers look TERRIBLE!! so they need the extra protein for now until i can figure the feather problem out. I also have been treating the chickens for 2 weeks with seven dust, but no results yet, I think they need to molt first before I see any real improvement. I am so lost and frustrated about all this. I am starting to think I have no idea what I am doing and I have raised chickens my entire life but never has any issues like this. The chickens seem to be still losing feathers, is it because they are getting ready to molt? PLEASE help I really am very upset about all of this I love my chickens and hate to see them look like this!!
    any info about any of this would be GREATLY APPRECIATED!!

Last edited: Apr 9, 2017
  2. TheTwoRoos

TheTwoRoos Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 25, 2015
    Feather loss is probably due to the muscoveis attacking them,or are you sure they are not molting or picking one each other?