More than one a day?!

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by raro, Aug 25, 2010.

1. raro

raro Out Of The Brooder

Aug 9, 2010
    Today I got the hens out into the run. Even though there are nesting boxes, they seem to like to nest on the extra straw that I had intended to "temporarily" store in one corner of the run, but which they promptly scattered all over and had a blast with. Anyway, there was a nice chicken-shaped indentation with nothing in it. One chicken went straight for that spot, so I figured she was going to be the first layer of the day. I checked back a few hours later and there were 3 eggs. (I have 5 chickens). I was happy, took them inside. Came back in the evening, and there were FOUR MORE eggs! That's seven eggs in one day from five hens. How is this possible?! I thought I would be lucky to have 3 or 4 a day. (Not that I'm complaining!)

2. jf1234

jf1234 Out Of The Brooder

Aug 20, 2010
    North yorkshire
    Eggmazing!

I am new to chucks, only got 2 welsummer 3 weeks ago. I am very lucky to get 1 egg a day from them.
    So what ever your doing it is definately working. Any tips to encourage my girls to lay more!

Jayne

Last edited: Aug 25, 2010
  3. Oven Ready

Oven Ready Chillin' With My Peeps

May 9, 2010
    Thailand
    They should lay every 26 hours roughly, so seven from five in twelve or so hours seems odd.

Is it possible that there were three eggs laid yesterday, somewhere close by, and one of the hens has collected them all together. They do like to collect up eggs and keep them in one big pile and they do like to lay eggs where there are already eggs sitting there.

See how many you have tomorrow? If it keeps going like this you'll need to watch your chloresterol levels just keeping up with them [​IMG]

4. pgpoultry

pgpoultry Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 16, 2009
    Wales