Most spastic breed of chicks???

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by bakerjw, May 18, 2010.

1. bakerjw

bakerjw Songster

Apr 14, 2010
    Johnson City, Tn
    I am new to chickens so I don't have much in the way of experience with different breed. First we had the 8 girls (TSC sex link pullets) and they were fairly subdued. They interact with us regularly but aren't overly friendly. Well at least not until one of us is dangling a night crawler for them. Then I went out and bought 5 white leghorn and 5 Silver Sebrights. the WLs run around in typical chick fashion but these darn Sebrights are something like a cross between Tasmanian devils and roadrunners.

So in you experiences, what have you found to be the most spastic breed of chicken as chicks would go? Just curious.

2. 4 luv of eggs

4 luv of eggs Songster

Apr 22, 2010
    Westminster, MD
    I don't have Sebrights but my Wyandottes are simply little brats. Always there for a handout and always harrassing the others. I have Brown Leghorns and they are true to nature by avoiding the hand but my Orpingtons always come right up and don't fear us. I have a few day old chicks that scream their heads off. They are Production Reds. I have Partridge Rocks and Black Australorps too but they don't seem to stand out in any way except the Rocks have a shoe fetish. My days old White Rocks seem sweet so far.

I looked up Sebright's personality on Henderson's Chicken Breed Guide and this is what it said about them:

"tolerates confinement; fliers; jaunty, sprightly"

I know, not much info there but the jaunty and sprightly are rather road runnerish.

I guess they all have certain instinctual personality traits that have let them survive.

3. PlumTuckered

PlumTuckered Songster

Jun 27, 2007
    Arkansas