Mother Hen just quit! Need heat for 5.5 wk old chicks tonight?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by junglebird, Jul 30, 2011.

1. junglebird

junglebird Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 29, 2010
    Southern Oregon
    Mother Hen just quit! [​IMG]

The 10 chicks are 5.5 weeks old, feathered out. Our daytime temps are 90, night time high 50's. They've been sleeping in a plastic sided dog crate with mom in a separate coop from the flock, I'm waiting to see where they decide to go tonight. They've been integrated (during the day) with the flock since nearly week one, so they may head into the coop with the flock. Should I shoo them into the brooder that has a light in it? Or let them tough it out where ever they choose?

This is my first time with hen-raised chicks. Thanks for your help! [​IMG]

Last edited: Jul 30, 2011
  2. Lil'ChickFarm

Lil'ChickFarm Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 27, 2011
    At this age, they should be able to take care of themselves. I had three 7 week olds and they were pretty independant. They cuddled together at night though. Mother probably thinks they are old enough to be on their own.
    I would put them in the coop for safety at night though.

3. lauralou

lauralou Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 10, 2007
    Central Virginia
    At that age, they don't need a heat lamp. Hens often leave their babies around that age, sometimes earlier.

4. justtoni44

justtoni44 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 13, 2010
    oregon
    I think it is warm enough.mine that age are out wthout heat.
    just decide where you want them and be sure it is safe.....
    oh, our hen said "i've had enough also"[​IMG]

5. junglebird

junglebird Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 29, 2010
    Southern Oregon
    justtoni44 [​IMG]

Thanks everyone for your responses!