Moulting chicken not leaving coop

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by inkedvegan, Jun 24, 2016.

1. inkedvegan

inkedvegan New Egg

Jun 10, 2016
    Raleigh
    This is my first time experiencing moult with chickens. One of my girls looks real pathetic and im assuming shes going thru a tough moult. Shes slow moving anf basically spends her whole day inside the coop. She is not egg bound although not laying at the moment. Her crop is a little bloody also. She eats when i put food in front of her and have been giving her extra protein to help her work through it. She lets me pet her whereas she wouldnt normally. Any suggestions? Is this normal?

2. Teila

Teila Bambrook Bantams Premium Member

Howdy inkedvegan

I have a gal who goes through a hard moult every year. She does tend to mope and while none of the girls like the wind at the best of times, she does try and stay out of the wind even moreso. She also keeps her distance from the other gals.

When you say “she lets me pet her” did you know that the moult process and pin feathers can be a bit painful for them, so it is best to keep touching to a minimum?

“Her crop is a little bloody” is concerning. I have not experienced bleeding in any of my gals’ moults and while not 100% positive, I do not think that is normal.

Is it possible that she is being bullied and her feathers are being pulled out by one of the other chickens or by herself?

Also, could she be broody? Broody hens stop laying and will pull out their chest/underbelly feathers in preparation of keeping the eggs close to their skin and warm.

3. Poultry parent

Poultry parent Chillin' With My Peeps

for molting not laying is normal although some hens lay while they molt she should look ruffled and her feathers should be everywhere if she is molting. a bloody crop is not normal

4. inkedvegan

inkedvegan New Egg

Jun 10, 2016
    Raleigh

5. inkedvegan

inkedvegan New Egg

Jun 10, 2016
    Raleigh