Moving 15 miles away with 60 chickens (and 2 mamma hens)

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by FatChicksDigMe, Sep 13, 2016.

1. FatChicksDigMe

FatChicksDigMe Chillin' With My Peeps

May 9, 2015
    Hello guys,

I am finally getting ready to move soon on my acre lot I've been working on (so slowly) for 3 years! I've also already built the chickens a new bigger coop too over there, BUT the real problem will be moving them... We have around 60 chickens right now (5 of which are roosters) in addition to two mother hens with chicks (one is my Silkie and her silkie baby plus a mixed chick, and the other is an australorp with her single chick).

What do I do!? How would one go about getting all these birds in my car, let alone getting them into some kind of container. Only a handful are super tame, the others, well, aren't:(

Thank you in advance!

2. redsoxs

redsoxs Chicken Obsessed

Jul 17, 2011
    North Central Kansas
    Maybe the best of all would be to wait until dark to gather them, haul them in the dark to their new digs, hand place them on the roosts of their new coop and let them wake up there the next morning. Catching, hauling, and transplanting won't be as traumatic for them in the dark. Not sure if you free range but I'd keep them cooped for a couple days so they don't run away and instead slowly get used to their new home. Good luck to you!!

3. redsoxs

redsoxs Chicken Obsessed

Jul 17, 2011
    North Central Kansas
    Oh, and I'd move the chicks in their own container so they don't get stomped and then reunite once they are in their new home.

4. chickens really

chickens really Chicken Obsessed

Collect boxes or dog crates....Catch the broody and Chicks...Put Broody in a box alone or transport her with the Chicks...Get her and chicks settled into new coop first...Might take a few trips..Wine boxes that hold six bottles work great to haul a Chicken a short distance..Shavings on the bottom with a few holes pocked on the side..Happy Birds!