1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Moving chicken tractor with skis? Other ideas?

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by Scifisarah, Aug 2, 2013.

1. Scifisarah

Scifisarah Chillin' With My Peeps

May 1, 2009
    Rockford MI
    My Coop
    So I am a biologist, artist and nurturer, but I am not an engineer or physicist which is why I have put off figuring out the wheels until last minute for my tractor. It is 5'x3' with a coop built out of plywood on a frame of 2x3s. The pen is underneath, with 2' tall space covered with hardware cloth. I don't have photos of it yet, but here are my early plans. I will try to take a picture tomorrow. I was thinking flip under wheels, but this sucker is heavy now that we have it built. I was wondering if anyone has had luck using skis for pulling tractors around, or if anyone has other suggestions on how to get this thing moving. :)

[​IMG]

2. LoneOak

LoneOak Chillin' With My Peeps

May 19, 2013
    West of Atlanta
    Check out this topic, Chicken Tractor Coop Wheels, and read my post in there-- #6-- about where to get the parts necessary to mount wheels to your tractor. f your tractor is so heavy that you can't lift one side, then go ahead and put 4 wheels on it one in each corner.