Moving chicks and One little turkey out into there coop

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Rufflemyfeathers, Jan 11, 2009.

1. Rufflemyfeathers

Rufflemyfeathers Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 20, 2008
    Astatula Florida
    Moving chicks and One little turkey out into there coop and before they get to run the pen they go to a coop and so far that poor little orpan of a turkey has been with the chicks but they are only on 20% chick starter and turkey suppose to be higher which I have but have not given to it since in brooder with chicks..now is it ok to separate the turkey and put in its own coop cage by itself so it can eat the proper amount of protein food for turkeys..It is getting along so good now with the chicks and they accepted him/her now to only separate it..

Any suggestions?? [​IMG]

Last edited: Jan 11, 2009
  2. TXmom

TXmom Chillin' With My Peeps

OK...I'm totally new to all this, so I don't know....but if the turkey needs more protein, can't you just feed it high-protein snacks (more snacks than the chicks)? Like scrambled egg, meat, bugs, etc... Or is turkey food more different than that?

3. Rufflemyfeathers

Rufflemyfeathers Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 20, 2008
    Astatula Florida
    If left it in with the chicks they would eat it too so I think to be on the safe side will put in its own pen and feed it its turkey food. I don't know why they can't all have the same food but guess not. Unless someone knows something I don't know.. thanks for the reply.

4. Red

Red Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 17, 2007
    Aw it's gonna be all lonely on its own...i hope someone can suggest something that would work.

5. Mahonri

Mahonri Urban Desert Chicken Enthusiast Premium Member

May 14, 2008
    North Phoenix
    My Coop
    Is the turkey your future Thanksgiving bird?

If it is, you might want to feed it differently or have a leaner bird.

Otherwise, let that big bird think it's just a big chicken.

6. jimnjay

jimnjay Chillin' With My Peeps