Moving chicks to coop questions!!

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by wegotchicks, Feb 16, 2017.

1. wegotchicks

wegotchicks Just Hatched

Feb 15, 2017
    Tarpon Springs, FL
    [​IMG] Hi! I am new to this chicken thing. We have 5 day old Black sex link hens. I have seen that they grow fast, but don't go out to the coop until fully feathered. So, where do I put them when they outgrow the tupperware bin I am using as the brooder but aren't old enough to move outside? We have a garage, but I don't know how to keep them safe in there if they need to be moved to a bigger space before they move to the coop.

2. Venevee

Venevee Out Of The Brooder

Oct 12, 2016
    I would suggest building a larger brooder or buying them a smaller coop, like this one:
    [​IMG]
    (example photo, not mine)

^You can find a small coop like these usually at your local country store for about $100-$200 or you can make your own.

I have a brooder that's pretty big that I start them in, it can hold up to 45-50 chicks until they are about a month to two months of age. Then I have a larger "nursery" pen in my coop that is sectioned off from the big girls and boys. After they are old enough to fend for themselves, I introduce them to the flock. It's also a good idea to section off a area in the coop where the rest of your chickens are because then your older hens and roosters can see your chicks and get use to them without harming them. And then the chicks smell like them too. It makes the introduction go a whole lot smoother.

Last edited: Feb 16, 2017
  3. jennyf

jennyf Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 24, 2016
    Missouri
    This was my project today! Moved chicks from the dog crate brooder to a much bigger area and they are loving it. This was this morning when it was chilly out--they're all spread out now. Just plywood attached to 4x4s at the corners so it can be broken down.

[​IMG]

4. wegotchicks

wegotchicks Just Hatched

Feb 15, 2017
    Tarpon Springs, FL