Moving chicks to coop

kirak74

In the Brooder
Jan 22, 2017
Hello all! Chicken newbie here :)
I am getting my 15 chicks in mid-February. I will start them inside, but am wondering when it is OK to move them to coop.
I'd like to move them by the third week in March because we have house guests coming that probably won't appreciate sharing their bathroom with 15 chicks.
We are in NC and temperatures in March are in the 60s during the day, but can get into the 30s at night. I'm wondering if they are 5 weeks old and I provide them with a heat source (we are using a heat plate), will they be OK in the coop?
Thank you!

welcome-byc.gif
It's nice to have you here.

Around 5 weeks of age (or thereabouts) they should be pretty well feathered. I think they would be fine to move by the 3rd week in March.

What breeds are you getting? (New chicks are so exciting!)

I'm doing the same thing for this year: Getting hatchlings in January. I've raised many successful flocks of all sorts of varieties of chickens and I'll say the key to when your birds are ready to go outside depends on the variety and temperature. The rule with chicks is that they need to start at 95 degrees dropping 5 degrees every passing week. These are both day and night time temperatures. I know 60 seems warm to us, but your chicks at 3 weeks old need to be at 85 degrees. They just don't have the feathering to stay warm. All that fluff on our chicks is all about letting air onto the chicks body for absorption, it does nothing to insulate them. I would suggest keeping your birds in for as long as possible, at least until they can tolerate those 60 degree day temps(About 6 weeks) but they'll still need to be kept warm if your night time temps drop too far.