Moving from farm into incubator...

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by rmonge00, Feb 25, 2013.

1. rmonge00

rmonge00 Chillin' With My Peeps

Hello Everyone,

I have never hatched eggs before, but am doing it in class (I am a Biology teacher) this month.. My eggs are being sent to my house and then I will bring them to school the following day to start the incubation. My question is, do I need to put them anywhere special while they wait overnight or do I need to bring them into the incubator as soon as they arrive?

I am also taking some of my own eggs in to be incubated (I have some laying hens and a rooster). Do I need to grab them as soon as they have been laid or can I leave them in the nesting boxes overnight?

One more thing, I am using a generic incubator without eggholders or an egg turner. I was thinking about just putting in cardboard egg boxes and turning manually. Am I right in thinking that the eggs should be positioned on their sides with the large part of the egg slightly elevated? Also, how often do I need to turn them? Can I get away with 3 times per day, and then once per day (or even not at all) during the weekends? They will be in my classroom and not my house, so it will be a pain to go in on the weekends, but I can do it if need be...

I know there is already information on this, but I couldn't find anything specific enough and I don't want to have an unsuccessful hatch.

Thanks for the help!!

Ryan Monger

2. Sally Sunshine

Sally Sunshine Cattywampus Angel <straightens Halo> Premium Member

Aug 23, 2012
    Pennsylvania
    My Coop
  3. Sally Sunshine

Aug 23, 2012
    Pennsylvania
    My Coop
  4. rmonge00

Thanks Sally Sunshine! That was a heck of an article... Anyone else have any quick tips?

5. Sally Sunshine

Aug 23, 2012
    Pennsylvania
    My Coop