1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Moving into the coop

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Geckochick, Jul 16, 2011.

1. Geckochick

Geckochick Out Of The Brooder

Jul 16, 2011
    Newbie here, both to the site and to chicks. I am finding my way, but I have a pressing concern, so came here first.

My chicks are getting too big to be inside anymore -- we have 27 and they are three weeks old. They just seem too big for the space we have for them -- we have set up brooder in a baby/dog run in our sunroom, but we have it squared so we can have it lidded (otherwise our cat might enjoy a midnight snack). The space is just getting too crampy for them all of the sudden. During the day we have a makeshift run for them outside until their permanent run is done, so they stretch their legs all day, but at night they come back inside. My husband has been going all out on the coop, which is two converted horse stalls in our barn.

I just worry about my little peeps going out to the barn. I know they will LOVE the space and exploring it, but I am worried. So, help a new chickie mom out and talk me through things I should take care of so I won't worry about them. It is raccoon and other pest proofed (as far as we can tell). We will put a heat lamp out tonight (even though it will probably be ok in our heatwave). What should I be thinking about for this big move?

Thanks, in advance. I really don't want to be out in the barn at midnight watching the babies, as much as I love them.

Last edited: Jul 16, 2011
  2. Judy

Judy Moderator Staff Member

Feb 5, 2009
    South Georgia
    Food and water [​IMG]