Moving my birds 160 miles

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by Mr Grandcanyon, Sep 15, 2010.

1. Mr Grandcanyon

Mr Grandcanyon Out Of The Brooder

Sep 14, 2010
    St. Johns, AZ
    Hello, I'm very new at this...

I bought 3 grown Speckled Sussex. BEAUTIFUL birds. They are in Flagstaff.... I want them in St. Johns, AZ. This is a 160 mile 2.75 hour drive.

How can I safely, without trauma, transport them? I have a pickup with a shell that has a screened window I can open.

The last 20 miles are on a moderately rough dirt road.

Any suggestions?

Mr Grandcanyon

2. Mrsfoote

Mrsfoote Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 19, 2010
    Laurel Montana
    A dog kennel or one of the rubbermaid storage bins with chicken wire over the top I set shaving in the bottom of the rubbermaid. We went to california to visit my family and my mother in law informed me she would not care for our little teenage chicks. SO I loaded up up with the cats and dogs and the chickens were the BEST travlers lol I covered them at night but they did amazing. Our cab to is also covered and I forgot to mention we drove from Montana to California so roughly 1300 miles. And in a few weeks are making a long term temporary move to Cali with my 3 hens 3 dogs 2 cats and a turtle and plan to do the same thing again. The chicks stayed still and then when we'd stop for the dogs we stopped for the chickens and gave them some food and water and let them stretch a bit. Then put them back and they settled right in. Since your treck is alot shorter I'm sure they will do just fine! [​IMG] You should have seen the looks I got travling with chickens in the back it was hysterical [​IMG]

3. Mahonri

Mahonri Urban Desert Chicken Enthusiast Premium Member

May 14, 2008
    North Phoenix
    My Coop
    First off, Welcome to BYC!

If you put them in a pet carrier, they should be fine.. you just don't want them to have too much wind but they need oxygen.