1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Moving Them To A New Coop And Egg Laying In The Old Coop???

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by TwoCrows, Dec 17, 2011.

1. TwoCrows

TwoCrows Show me the way old friend... Staff Member

Mar 21, 2011
    New Mexico, USA
    My Coop
    I am new to chickens this year. I didn't want to purchase a premade coop and had the hubby build one from ideas on line here. However being that I didn't know enough about coop size, ventilation and such, the coop seems to small for the girls to hang out in. And with the cold frosty nights, does not have enough head room to make for good ventilation for removing the moist air.

So, being that they have access to a greenhouse and they hang out in there on snowy or rainy days, I have converted it to a coop, adding a few roost bars and feeding and watering areas. I have NOT put in any nest boxes, and the two boxes they do use I want to keep in the original coop.

So...here is my questions....How difficult is it going to be to convert my chickens to sleeping in these new digs? They are very comfortable during the day hanging out in there, however return to their coop for the night.

AND, I also need to know, once converted, will they still use the nest boxes in the old coop? I don't want them laying all over the floor in their new coop without boxes.

Is it at all possible to have a "summer coop" and a "winter coop"? I know, lots of questions. I am too new at this chicken thing yet and have lots of behavior questions. [​IMG]

Thanks a lot everybody....Leyla [​IMG]

2. TwoCrows

Mar 21, 2011
    New Mexico, USA
    My Coop
    Any ideas??

3. Fierlin1182

Fierlin1182 powered-flight

Aug 26, 2011